Day 1: When Will They Arrive?!

In an attempt to crack the photography world, I have invested in a new camera and lenses. I’m waiting to open the box and see that shiny glass reflecting my own eager, and slightly aroused, eyes at all the possibilities this new equipment can do for me and my photography.

DSCF1087.jpg
Nagoya 2016

Don’t get me wrong, great photography isn’t about the equipment you have. Anyone can create beautiful images with any camera they have (Above is a photo I took on a budget lens). I have been using a hand-me-down DSLR for some years, and have produced some great results! So why the upgrade, you ask? BECAUSE I WANTED TO! …and because I felt it important to upgrade the quality of my images and expertise to expand into a photography lifestyle. There are some great photographers (amateur and experienced) capturing today, and although I don’t believe in competing in photography, there isa need to stay current and flexible in my capability.

Also, I wanted new, shiny equipment.

And so, here I am. Waiting by the door like a lonesome pet waiting to be fed, the stranded castaway longing for that boat on the horizon, the… well, you get the idea.

In the mean time, I can continue looking for jobs. As much as I would love to sit at home playing with my cameras, I still need to eat (and save for photography stuff). I’m also studying: as much as I know when to press a button, understanding your camera and it’s potential takes time.

UPDATE: still not here.

I’ll check in tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

